Day 3 – Lessons from Nature: Patience

Every time I go north, the first sound I listen for is the sound of the black-capped chickadee (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=buOzYlVxIPg). It’s the sound I most associate with the natural world. There is a calming feeling that rushes over my soul when I hear the gentle call of the black-capped chickadee while sitting in a boat or kayak in the middle of the lake. It’s a sound that makes me feel like everything is going to be okay. Needless to say, it’s my absolute favorite bird.

Only recently, I began my head first dive into a love for birding. I’ve always been interested in birds. My grandma is the expert birder. At the cabin, she’d be at the window looking out with her binoculars and try to teach me what some of the birds were. In Boy Scouts, I earned my birding merit badge with the help of my grandparents and spending time at the cabin, but I never jumped fully into being a “birder.” The Audubon Society declared 2018 as “Year of the Bird.” I made it my quest to become the best birder I can be. To do this, I spent lots of time going for walks near my house and just watching the bird feeders. I observed a lot of interesting things. Like everything in life, there seemed to be a hierarchy to getting what you wanted. The red-bellied woodpecker, a much larger bird, always seemed to get seeds whenever he/she felt like it, no matter who was at the feeder at the time. The white-breasted nuthatch, with a longer and pointier beak, also seemed to butt in whenever it deemed necessary. The house finches just always seemed to be there and only moved when being attacked by other house finches or saw a bigger bird or pointier beak on the way.

This brings me back to my favorite bird: the black-capped chickadee. While all the other birds were behaving like humans at a Walmart on Black Friday, the black-capped chickadee was waiting patiently for an opening to grab a seed. When the opening was there, it grabbed ONE seed and took off to eat it or store it in a nook for later. It then returned and waited for another turn at grabbing some food. It was absolutely fascinating. Sure enough an article came out exactly about what I was observing (https://www.audubon.org/news/how-chickadee-flocks-avoid-traffic-jams-your-feeder).


My love for the black-capped chickadee only grew. Here was a bird exemplifying what it meant to be patient. I know I’m guilty of standing in line at a grocery store or wherever and getting huffy when they need to call a manager over to see about a price check or do a return or the person’s significant other is making a run back to an aisle to grab more of an item. It’s good to take time and reflect on how I can be more patient because at the end of the day, it’s all going to work out. Like the chickadee, I can practice being more patient. Life is good and all will be well.



21 thoughts on “Day 3 – Lessons from Nature: Patience

  1. This line cracked me up: “all the other birds were behaving like humans at a Walmart on Black Friday”. Oh yes. And then the lesson you glean from the chickadee. Powerful. I’m fascinated, too, that birding has made its way back into your everyday life. That’s not something I had ever considered before.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. While I am not an official bird watcher, I do love watching the collection of birds in my backyard. I watch for the first robin. I get excited when I see the cardinals. I get angry when the bluejays are mean to the other bird. I watch closely as the woodpecker pecks away at the trees. It connects me with nature. Your post is a great reminder to watch for the lessons these birds can teach me. Thanks for the post.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love how you compared human patterns to bird patterns. We sure could learn a lot from the patterns we see in nature. I hope that I am more black-capped chickadee than red-bellied woodpecker!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I was excited to read your post since I love watching for birds and observing them yet haven’t totally taken the “dive” yet. My favorite bird is the meadowlark and I could really relate to your description of how you feel when you hear their song. Enjoyed your slice very much!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I warn you once you take the dive you end up birding everywhere and at all times. It does make you realize how many birds are around you and start to notice and appreciate everything a little bit more.

      Like

  5. I was excited to read your post since I love watching for birds and observing them yet haven’t totally taken the “dive” yet. My favorite bird is the meadowlark and I could really relate to your description of how you feel when you hear their song. Enjoyed your slice very much!

    Like

  6. I have always thought it was cool how some people are so into birds. I don’t know much about them, but I love it when I hear a yellow finch fly by. I recognize it’s song and flight pattern. And I love that I have taught my daughter how to recognize them as well. She will hear one and her eyes get really big, “Mommy! A yellow finch!!” Makes me smile every time. Thanks for sharing.

    -Natalie Dunne (from Sipley 🙂 )

    Like

  7. Thanks for sharing your lesson learned. It speaks to me as well, because ummmm I may be a little bit impatient! Nature always has a calming and grounding sense. Is it spring yet?

    Like

    1. There is lots of science behind the benefits of going into nature. Like I said before, you and your kids are always welcome to come and bird with me sometime.

      Like

  8. Lisa I couldn’t agree more – you are very impatient 🙂 haha I kid I kid…

    Barba, you make me want to be a bird watcher… I am seriously trying to get off for your next Bird Tour with Barba… Just a heads up, I’m the noisy, clumsy, fat kid who makes too much noise and ruins the fun in these situations (you could even ask my U.P. hunting friends!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You sell yourself short, Dan. I’ve seen you play goalie and you have the grace of a ballerina. When it’s warm, I try to bird every weekend. You’re welcome to come.

      Like

  9. Wish I could have finished reading this post, but I ran out of patience. Ha. Sorry, I figured I’d be the jerk that used such a terrible joke. Love the post Barba. It speaks to the simplicity of understanding and connecting to the world around us. You have a nice, conversational tone to your writing, brother. Keep it up. Looking forward to reading more.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. You write beautifully, comparing the behavior of humans with that of birds. It is nature isn’t it. There was so much to learn from your slice. I was thinking about the possibility of writing an informational text from your slice and about what the sub-headings would be.

    Like

  11. Love that you’re a fellow nature-lover. My favorite bird is the Indigo Bunting. When I lived in Carbondale, we’d see them from time-to-time and I loved to photograph them. They’re beautiful. How lucky we are to live in a place that has an abundance of cardinals, jays, chickadees, and others. Something to check out next year – Reelfoot Lake does an Eagle festival every February and it’s definitely something to check out! I’ve been twice and was (in part) the inspiration for getting an ultra-zoom lens for my camera. Happy birding!

    Like

    1. I’ve saw my first indigo bunting last year visiting my feeders. Luckily, my neighbors are birders too and let me know there was one in the area. I’m unfamiliar with Reelfoot Lake. I’ll have to check it out.

      Like

  12. I’m really enjoying your stories! And your memories are sparking memories of my childhood summers in the mountain of upstate New York. My favorite call of the “everyday” birds we heard while upstate was the white-throated sparrow (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sL_YJC1SjHE). And my favorite of the more exotic birds was the loon (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4ENNzjy8QjU). Thank you for calling up all these memories for me as you share yours! 🙂
    – Stacie

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Whoa. I have to vote for the elk. I’ve never heard that call before! Now you have me thinking about animal calls and what they say to us, who are not the animals they are speaking to. Hmm …

        Like

Leave a comment