Day 13 – Weekend Breakfast

A little over a year ago, I became a Costco member. With a baby, it seemed the sensible thing to do when diapers cost about as much as a tank of gasoline. A year or so later (and many dollars spent), I’ve officially become a “Costco guy”. What does this mean? Let me give you an example. Not too long ago, I stopped into our front office to ask our wonderful secretary a question. As I stepped in, another “Costco guy” and myself locked eyes pointed at each other’s Adidas shoes and in perfect harmony uttered, “Costco!” We had a good chuckle, but you’d be surprised how often this happens. “Hey, get those at Costco?” has become a part of my lexicon. Costco pizzas have become an integral part of our Friday night festivities.

Needless to say, I’m a big fan and have accepted my new lifestyle. My favorite thing, however, is some Don Miguel Breakfast Burritos I stumbled upon on a whim. My wife had asked to find something that would be quick for her to heat up and eat in the mornings with the big guy. I’m not really a breakfast person myself during the week as I value getting a little extra sleep over getting up and eating a bowl of whatever. Upon trying one of these burritos that my wife simply said was “good”, I realized she may have been trying to trick me. She laughs as these breakfast burritos are something I genuinely look forward to on the weekends. I’ve caught myself on a Thursday saying, “Can’t wait to dig into some burrito this weekend!” I know you’re probably thinking, “why don’t you just eat them during the week?” and the answer is: I don’t know.

Something about waiting all week to have breakfast with my wife and the big guy on a Saturday makes it all the more satisfying. She has been getting really into making fancy coffees. I get to take my time consuming the burrito with Marie Sharp’s Hot Sauce (the best hot sauce I’ve ever had) and savor every bite versus wolfing it down during a weekday. The big guy eats all of the sausage pieces that I pluck out for him while giving me his extra big smile. We talk (he babbles or pretends his pieces of fruits are vehicles and makes vroom sounds) and enjoy this breakfast together that I usually miss during the week as I’m usually out the door before they’re up. I can’t wait for the weather to get nice so we can move the dining outdoors.

Tomorrow starts a fresh week and five days of no burrito, but come Saturday after the tiny hands have woken me up paired with the sounds of “dada!”, you better believe in 90 seconds and a beep, I’ll be sharing a burrito with my tiny human and sipping coffee made by a beautiful barista.

4 thoughts on “Day 13 – Weekend Breakfast

  1. I loved this one and how you made a frozen burrito sound so endearing, because it represents the sacred Saturday morning time with your family.
    Also, I love Costco. My husband is a fellow Costco guy like you. He is there more often than me, and he has made some good finds. We, too, get the Costco pizza. And cheese, lots of cheese. Goat cheese, Manchego… Oh and their beverages. So good. Can’t leave there without a random small appliance or a lake toy. I may be part of a Costco Facebook group for really awesome Costco scores. So I think you’ve inspired my next blog. 😉

    Like

Leave a comment