Day 17 – Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

On my way into the building this morning I was immediately peppered with…

“Why aren’t you the leprechaun?”

“Where is the leprechaun?”

And things of that nature to which I always reply, “it is rather hard to drive in the rubber shoes and turn your head to check on traffic when the top hat gets caught on the ceiling.”

Alas, the coffee has started to reach my brain and prompting me to pull the rubber shoes over my feet (it takes about 5 minutes a foot). I then ask for opinions if I should wear the small bowtie or the big one. The answer is always the big one! I once dyed my beard orange, but the temporary stuff went beyond temporary so NEVER again.

The tradition is wonderful. I’ve been doing it nearly since I started teaching. The kids always call me the leprechaun when they see me and I tell them “that wasn’t me I was sick that day, but I can’t believe a leprechaun came to school!” Throughout the day, I make my way into various classrooms spreading the joy of St. Patrick’s Day. The preschoolers were too shocked to really say anything today.

Anyways, it’s time to rest with some Green River. My feet are still recovering from the rubber shoes!

2 thoughts on “Day 17 – Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

Leave a comment